ipage web hosting reviews 2016
$1.99 / month
Updated on: September 7, 2017
Company: iPage
Editor's Rating:
(4.5/5)
Price from: $1.99 / month
Read User Reviews

The web hosting company, Ipage is specialized in offering shared hosting plans at a very affordable rate. They also offer a range of bonuses and freebies on signup, worth more than $500, and their service is backed with a 24/7 online support and 30 day money-back guarantee.

iPage is a US-based company, having customers all over the world, and they claim having over one and a half million active domains on their system and hosting over one million websites in their datacenters.

The company was originally founded by Thomas Gorny, back in 1998, and now, iPage is owned by the Endurance International Group, which is the owner of other popular hosting companies like FatCow, BlueHost and others. In the following section of this ipage review will show you the pros and cons of the company.

What’s good about iPage?

Very cheap starting price: with the current promotional price, $1.99/month deal, iPage is the cheapest shared hosting provider that offers the possibility to host as many websites you want on the same account.

Easy to use website builder: this is a very useful tool, especially for beginners, who want to get their website going right after the signup. In theory, you can set up a website in 10 minutes with this tool.

Anytime money back guarantee*: unhappy with their service, want to change host, want to close website, the reason does not matter, you can ask for refund anytime during your subscription. *Please note that iPage no longer offer anytime money back, they changed their refund policy and now you can get a refund within 30 days. This is still a good period of time to test their services.

Instant account activation: after registration and successful payment, customer will receive an email will all the details that needed to access the newly bought hosting account. No holding or phone activation is required.

Server upgrade options: not long time ago, the company realize how important is to offer the possibility to their customers to grow. iPage introduced virtual and dedicated server plans.

What’s bad about iPage?

High renewal price: although their starting price is very competitive, their renewal rates are higher than competitor’s.

In-depth review of iPage.com Web Hosting

Above we have shown you some history and broadly covered the good and bad sides of hosting your site with iPage. Now we will analyze in-depth every aspect of the company, and will help you to decide if iPage is the right choice for your hosting needs.

iPage Hosting Plans

The iPage Essential Plan is basically an “unlimited” all-in-one shared hosting package that comes with a wider range of features, tool and bonuses. Each account is allowed to create unlimited MySQL databases and add-on as many domains they like. iPage says that this plan includes unlimited space and bandwidth, under normal website operation. In their terms of service they do not specify the exact amount, but they do not allow certain type of behavior on these accounts such as file sharing service and other operations that consume high bandwidth and server resources.

The shared plan includes the Weebly drag-and-drop site builder tool, the starter version allowing you to create a webpage with up to six pages. To sell products online, you can use ShopSite which is a popular eCommerce platform that integrates with all major payment processors. It is also possible to install your favorite CMS or blog using their one-click installer tool. Click here to see all the available scripts.

Although the company does not advertise as heavily the virtual and dedicated server, you should know that they offer the possibility to their clients to upgrade their shared hosting account when necessary. The VPS and dedicated plans are available with monthly payment subscriptions as well.

iPage Uptime / Downtime

iPage do not claim neither do no not offer any uptime guarantee. Because we were curious about their up-time, we have monitored 3 websites (two wordpress and one php website with up to 50 visitors a day) over 30 days and the result the iPage’s uptime was fabulous: 99,99% as the screenshot shows:

ipage uptime monitor

Please do not take this as a guarantee; this is only our test results.

The websites that are hosted at iPage are clustered over two data-centers, which are located in Boston, MA, USA. They use world-class technology and monitoring the network 24×7 to ensure that no service disruption occurs. iPage is prepared for an eventual power outage running UPS power backups along with a diesel backup generation system to make sure that websites are always up and running. Severs are backed up daily using NetApp Snapshot.

Just to give you a most recent update on our test results about iPage.com’s uptime, here is a screenshot take from UptimeRobot:

ipage uptime stats 2016 november

iPage Uptime – November 2016

The uptime for the monitored website hosted at iPage in November 2016 is 99.99% while the average response time was 1023 ms. The response time is still above industry average, but acceptable for a shared account.

iPage Support

The company offers 24/7 online support via phone, chat and emails. They claim that on average calls are answered in about a minute.

Some ipage reviews sites claim that the online support is bad, most of them complain about the live chat, others are saying that the support team is great and they where able to get answers via phone in just couple if minutes. Searching the web, you will find a lot of different opinion about the quality and professionalism of the company’s support. It is a fact, that each customer is different and we all have different needs and thresholds. We also communicate in different ways and may approach a problem from a different angle and some time we misunderstand each other.

I had the chance to test Ipage support with a real problem and contacted all three support lines. Via the live chat I was not able to solve anything, the support specialist advised me to contact the technical department via email. Meanwhile I also called their phone support and tried to explain what my problem is; they were very professional and helped me right away. Because my problem was solved, they also closed the email ticket I sent earlier. So if you have a technical issue, you better send an email or call and avoid the live chat.

I did not found any information on their public site about the premium support option, but you should know that beside the free support there is a possibility to get benefit of a faster premium support at an additional cost.

Their knowledge base is a collection of articles, tutorials and videos that will help beginners to get started with their website. They cover the wide range of topics from how to use the control panel to WordPress and Joomla tutorials. It is a very good source of information for users who are new to web hosting and site building. This section of the website it is available for public users, so you can check it out before singup.

iPage Control Panel

iPage use a custom-built control panel for their account management, called vDeck. If you are switching from a cPanel host to iPage, you should know that this does not differ much from the well know cPanel. It includes all the features you will need from creating your email account through to install scripts to manage your billings. This is a browser-based control panel that can be accessed right from iPage’s website using the login information that you receive on singup.

This is a screenshot from the control panel of our iPage test account.

ipage vdeck control panel

Screenshot: iPage vDeck Control Panel

The most popular tools are included at the top in the “My Favorite” section, where you can access your domains, emails, quickly install WordPress or other scripts with SimpleScripts or access the Weebly site builder.

VPS and Dedicated hosting plans offered by iPage include cPanel, full root access and fully managed support.

iPage Pricing & Renewal Cost

Regularly iPage offers discounts and deals to its customers during initial term. The Essential Plan is available from $1.99 with a 36-month subscription for new customers. It is important to know that hosting plans at iPage renew at regular rates. Here we have collected the renewal cost of most popular hosting plans:

Monthly Term 12-Month Term 24-Month Term 36-Month Term
Essential Plan $12.95 $12.95 $11.95 $10.95
WP Starter $10.49 $9.49 $8.49 n/a
WP Essential $17.95 $17.95 $16.95 $15.95

Please note the prices in the above table were taken from iPage.com official website on December 2016 and they are subject to change.

iPage Money Back Guarantee

A full refund is granted within 30 days after signup; the refund does exclude the domain name (if you registered one with them) and add-ons that are offered to you on singup.

Before I started creating this ipage hosting review, I also did an online research to see what customers are complaining about. I found that half of complains were on the company’s money back policy. To understand how ipage’s money back works, please read their policy here.

iPage Bonuses and Extras

There are few extras that are pretty basic and should be part of a standard hosting package such as spam protection and scans for malware, also the 24/7 support, however the marketing credits offered on Google, Facebook and Bing ad-networks which worth over $200 could be a good boost for initial website advertising.

Conclusion – is iPage made for you?

Certainly you will find both negative and positive iPage reviews and not only on this company. Having millions of customers is almost impossible to satisfy the need of everyone, however we think that iPage tries its best to provide what they promises.

iPage is a good starting point for new webmasters and non-technical persons; with their online tutorials and solid support it is easy to get started with your first website. It is also possible to grow and upgrade to a more powerful plan when time comes.

The shared plan however is not ideal for everyone. Developers, who are planning to build or run custom applications, may find the Essential Plan insufficient for those tasks.

Now the decision is yours. If you are interested in learning more about the company, I suggest you visit iPage’s Official Website or if you are looking for something else, please check out our other reviews on BlueHost or InMotion Hosting.

Click here to submit your review.
Submit your review
* Required Field

Gaby on Nov 25, 2016
The chat support is very nice, kind and fast, in the 2 years I've been with them only contacted 3 or 4 times, this last time wanted to cancel because of the hight rates, but they made me an offer and definitively I accepted, because my site is always working, those not working is because of me, the service is very good, definitively I will recommend, thank you iPage for your service!

Rusty Hill on Jul 30, 2015
Their live chat support was very friendly and helpful, so I decided to give it a try. Now, after 3 months of hosting, I can confirm that Ipage was a great choice. I'm very happy with the service and support they offer, and indeed it is very easy to set up a website. If you are a novice like me, it may take longer to figure out things, but finally I was able to get started with my site. Good overall service, will recommend them to my friends as well.

Mark Packer on Jun 16, 2015
Even though I had some difficulties with my account at the beginning, Ipage's support was very helpful and patient with me to get started. My Wordpress site now runs smoothly and I’m very pleased with their service. Thank you iPage!

Jason on Apr 19, 2015
I really love iPage hosting, their service is outstanding. Just tested my website with pingdom.com and the response time was excellent: 1.33 seconds and it says that my website is faster than 89% of all tested websites. Very satisfied with the service, thank you iPage!

Melvin on Mar 18, 2015
I have been using iPage for more than 3 years now. Occasionally I am experiencing some slowness on my website and had some minor issues with MySQL. The staff was very kind and fixed the database problem for me.