ehost reviews
$2.75 / month

The company eHost.com has been operating as online service provider since 1998. They are based in Houston, Texas and claim to host over one million websites on their platform. Ehost provides low-cost, cPanel based shared hosting. Beside the free domain name, which is very standard offer in the hosting industry, eHost includes a lot of other features such as: drag and drop website builder for quick and easy website creation, $300 worth Marketing suit to boost up your website traffic, 30-Day money back guarantee and a lot more.

Although the company provides hosting service for almost 20 years, they are not very popular. In 2015 eHost has been “re-wrapped”, got a new website layout as well a new hosting control panel. Initially eHost was running on vDeck, but as many other leading hosting providers, they have decided to switch to cPanel, a more reliable and feature rich control panel. Beside the design change, eHost has introduced new features as well lowered the price.

eHost focuses on simplicity. The company’s main virtue relies in their drag-and-drop site builder, which comes with over 1000 pre-designed templates. The website builder is a very handy tool that helps users to create a website quickly, without the need of knowing any programming language. This could be extremely beneficial for novice users, who don’t have much experience with website building.

In the next part of this article, we will go deeper, and will analyze each aspect of the company eHost.com: reliability, uptime, guarantees, and will also talk about pros and cons. Please keep reading our full eHost review to find out if the company meets your exceptions. At the end of the page you will also find customer reviews on eHost.com.

What’s good about eHost.com?

Affordable hosting plan: with the current 50% discount, for only $2.75 monthly, you will get a hosting plan that includes all the necessary features that is needed to start and run a successful small website.

cPanel web hosting: the cPanel control panel allows you to have full control over your account. Add new domains, install custom scripts such as WordPress, Joomla, Drupal or Magento, create new email addresses, quickly and easily.

Drag & Drop site builder: this tool is perfect for newbies, who are looking to build a website, but have no experience though. The site builder allows you to quickly create a custom webpage, publish content, upload images, create slideshows and galleries, create a contact form and publish it online, without the need of writing a single line of code.

Guaranteed customer satisfaction: with the 30-Day money back guarantee offered by eHost, you have enough time to test and have a good view on their service and support. Please note that domain price will be deducted from the amount of refund. Check eHost’s terms to see how how the refund works.

Free marketing credits: each new hosting plan includes $100 Google Adwords credits and $100 Yahoo/Bing network advertising credits, that you can spend driving traffic to your newly created website. This will be a good boost for building up your brand and make your first sales.

What’s bad about eHost.com?

Only shared hosting: this will not be a problem for low traffic websites. However websites that will grow over time, needing a VPS or dedicated server, will have to be transferred to other host.

Uptime and Performance of Websites Hosted with eHost

In the past few months we have been monitoring two websites that are hosted on eHost.com servers. One website was built with the website builder, while the other was running on WordPress. These websites are hosted on different servers. We used UptimeRobot for tracking the response and uptime of these websites. There results are very promising.

The website which was built with the premium site-builder offered by eHost had a very good average over-all response time (around 205 ms) and a 99.86% uptime in the last 30 days. What does this uptime mean? It means that the tested site was down for about one hour in the last month.

ehost sitebuilder uptime record

The website built with WordPress had also good average over-all response time (593 ms) and a 100% uptime. So this site (which is hosted on different server) was up and running all the time.

ehost wordpress uptime record

eHost Uptime Update: September, 2016

We are continuously monitoring couple websites hosed with eHost. We wanted to give you a quick update on the performance and uptime of these websites. The following screenshot shows the response time and website uptime in the last 30 days. It clearly shows that in September, 2016 it was an outage of 9 minutes. The total uptime for this month resulting in 99.94%, which is still a very good uptime considering that the company yearly uptime guarantee is 99.9%. The average response time 422ms, which is considered a reasonable speed for a shared host. I would like to mention, that this is the worst results we got during our tests. So here is the screenshot:

ehost uptime september 2016

eHost Uptime Update: January, 2017

It is time again to update the our uptime records on eHost. In the last few months we have continued monitoring these two websites that are hosted with eHost. One is build using the eHost Sitebuilder, while the other is running on WordPress. Apparently the server that is hosting the website built with Sitebuilder is more stable in terms of performance (having an average of 507 ms response time), while the server where the WordPress site is hosted on shows some spikes in performance. Although the average response time for this website is better (272 ms), some times it takes even up to 1,5-2 seconds to respond.

The uptime stats for these two sites are as follow:

 eHost Uptime Period  30 Days 6 Months All Time
eHost SiteBuilder  99.97% 99.93% 99.91%
eHost WordPress  100% 100% 100%

And these are the screenshots taken from UptimeRobot:

ehost sitebuilder uptime january 2017

eHost Sitebuilder Uptime

ehost wordpress uptime january 2017

eHost WordPress Uptime

eHost Speed & Performance

The response time of a website is important, this determines how fast the user will connect to that particular site. However when first accessing the website, the load time is more important. This is the time that a user will have to wait for the page to fully load (download images, scripts and files). To test the load time of these sites we used Pingdom’s website speed tool.

The website which was created with the site builder, has loaded within 3 second having a page size of 3.8 MB – the tool awarded this website with a 97/100 performance grade (almost perfect).

ehost website builder performance

The other website, that is based on WordPress only received a 86/100 performance grade, but loaded a bit faster: in 2.88 seconds. Please note, that the size of this website is 12MB (3 time more than the above mentioned one). This website has lots of images on the homepage and uses a medium complexity premium theme.

ehost wordpress website performance

So, are these results any good? Well a website which loads entirely in 3 seconds is a pretty fast website (considering the fact that this is a shared hosting and can’t provide the performance of a dedicated server), so the performance is great. The uptime, however can be improved for certain servers, but still a 99.9% uptime is acceptable for shared hosting.

While we have been receiving lots of questions from our readers regarding eHost.com web hosting company, we wanted to answer the most frequent questions here:

Installing Your Favorite CMS to eHost

ehost quick install

Ehost’s Quick Install tool enables you to automatically install your favorite software to your domain. This tab contain the most used content management, blogging and eCommerce platforms (WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, Concrete 5, Magento eCommerce, OS Ticket, phpBB Forum, B2Evolution blog, PrestaShop eCommerce). If you prefer other software, just click the QuickInstall icon in the control panel and you will be able to choose from hundreds of software including Moodle, ZenCart, Sugar CRM, Modx, Nucleus, Typo 3, Xoops, MediaWiki, and many others.

This tool will help you to install the latest version of many software with just few clicks. It will save you time and effort, because you don’t need to manually create the database and upload the files to your server, everything will be done automatically.

Is eHost good for WordPress Hosting?

ehost wordpress hosting serviceAs you already know, eHost offers low cost shared hosting. They allow to install and hosting WordPress websites on their servers. But are they actually good for WordPress hosting? From our tests (which results is presented above in this article) resulted that eHost is very good for small WordPress sites. It is obvious that they don’t offer managed WordPress service, and a shared hosting plan is not for high traffic websites. Small site built with WordPress receiving few hundred visitors daily will have a very good performance with eHost.

Is eHost using Weebly as Website Builder?

No, eHost is not using Weebly as their website builder platform. They use a more professional and more feature-rich site builder software offered by WebsiteBuilder.com

What Platform Does eHost Use? Is it cPanel?

ehost cpanel hosting serviceYes, the hosting account is managed through customized cPanel control panel. After your first login into your eHost hosting account, you can choose cPanel to manage your websites, emails etc. It is the same cPanel that you are used to use on other cPanel hosting providers, with all the same features, just a bit redesigned.

How to use eHost’s Website Builder?

ehost choose website builder

When you access your eHost account for the first time, on the main screen you will be asked to choose between cPanel hosting or Website Builder. If you want to install WordPress or other CMS to your site, you will need to choose cPanel, however if you choose to create your site using the drag and drop site builder tool, you will have to select the Website Builder.

Once you have selected the Site Builder, choose the domain you want to build the site on and click to proceed. Choose a template that you like and fits your website category and start editing. Upload images easily, add text, create pages, insert image galleries, buttons, headings, navigation and more. The process is very simple, no programming is required to create the layout you want, just simply drag and drop the necessary elements to your template.

ehost.com add content with website builder

eHost: cPanel or Website Builder?

Because we have received few emails from our readers regarding this question, we decided to add some extra information to this review. As stated before, eHost offers multiple ways to build your website.

One of their option is the drag-and-drop website builder. This option is ideal for those users who are starting out with their first website. This tool does not require any skills of programming or web design. You can choose a template from the thousands of designs and adjust it to your personal needs. When you are done with the editing, with a press of a button you can publish the website to your domain. If want to modify your site, you can return anytime to the builder and make the necessary modifications. It is very simple to use.

Another option to create your website at eHost is to use WordPress, or other similar content management system. To install WordPress to your website, you need to choose cPanel in your account. As mentioned before, WordPress is also a very simple and easy to use software. With WordPress you can build more complex websites and expand them in the future. The website builder is limited compared to WordPress.

So which should you choose? If want to quickly set up a nice looking website and don’t really want to further develop it, you should choose the Website Builder, otherwise you should go with cPanel.

How much does eCommerce cost on eHost.com?

So you are looking to set up an online shop with eHost.com. In this case you have multiple options. You can choose their in-house eCommerce platform if you choose the Website Builder plan. Here you can choose from four different plans starting at $10.45 monthly and allowing up to 25 products. Here is a screenshot for a more simple overview of eHost eCommerce plans:

ehost.com ecommerce pricing

Dedicated IP address and domain privacy is also available. eHost provides discounts on many of their add-ons on the first invoice. You should note that the discounts are applied on the first billing cycle, this being the initial price in the above table. On the following invoices the regular prices are applied.

The other option to create an eCommerce website with eHost is to choose cPanel. In the “Quick Install” section of your cPanel account, you will have the option to choose from many different eCommerce applications such as Magento, PrestShop, TomatoCart and ZenCart. You can install these software for free to your website.

eHost Webmail Applications

eHost offers three different webmail applications you can choose from: Horde, Roundcube and SuqirelMail.

ehost webmail

Horde is the most popular option among users offering easy email, calendars, tasks and notes management. It allows users to share their emails, calendars or notes with their co-workers.

Roundcube is another great webmail software which enables you to access your emails via most web browsers and import and manage address books too. The spell checker is another plus when writing emails using the rich-text html composer.

SquirelMail has less features than the other two mentioned before and is the simplest webmail application. It is very user-friendly and it is highly customizable.

If you want to send and receive emails using an email client such as Thunderbird, Outlook or Opera Mail or other, you can use the POP3 or IMAP protocols to setup your email addresses. You can find tutorials on how to set up emails using these protocols on eHost’s official website.

These features are only available for users that opted for cPanel hosting. For users who are using the eHost site-builder there are other options to setup email accounts.

Does eHost offer any Coupon Code?

If you are looking for a coupon code that you can use on eHost.com I can tell you that you won’t find any. There is however a way to reduce the initial price and pay less on your first term. Click here to get the best eHost discount. For a limited time you can purchase eHost’s web hosting plan at 50% discount. Act now!

eHost Domain Transfer and Privacy

If you want to transfer your domain to eHost you should get in touch with the support, because they have to initiate the domain transfer for you.  If you want to move your domain out from eHost, first you should find another hosting provider or domain registrar to move the domain to. You will need the domain to be unlocked and to get the EPP key, which can be obtained only from eHost’s billing department.

If you want to hide your personal information on your domain whois, it is a good idea to purchase domain privacy. You can buy this service in your eHost control panel, it will cost $9.95 / years for one domain.

Is eHost HIPAA Compliant?

Unfortunately eHost is not compliant with the HIPAA law. You should NOT use eHost for hosting sensitive health information. We recommend Liquidweb for this purpose.

What Forms of Payment does eHost Accept?

payment forms accepted by eHostYou can buy eHost using a credit or debit card (MasterCard, Visa, Discover Network, American Express, Diners Club International or JCB) or PayPal. Some electronic cards may also work, but prepaid and gift cards are not accepted. At the time of writing eHost does not accept payments in cash, check, money order or bank wire transfer. Moneybookers (Skrill), Webmoney, AlerPay, Bitcoin or other similar payment methods are also missing as payment options.

Conclusion – Is eHost a Good Choice for Small Business Website?

It is fact, that eHost is not for everyone. If you have a busy blog or website and want to transfer it to eHost, it might not be a good idea. However if you are just starting out with your first website, eHost is the perfect hosting provider. With this company you will have the option to create your site using their site-builder software, or you can use eHost like a regular host, by installing and uploading scripts to the server via FTP or File Manager.

If you are looking for a new host for your high traffic website or eCommerce store with large number of products, we recommend BlueHost or InMotion, because eHost will not be able to provide you with the necessary hosting power for these type of websites. We recommend eHost for small business or personal websites with low to medium traffic!

Click here to submit your review.
Submit your review
* Required Field

Mohamed Ali on Jul 23, 2017
I have been an eHost customer for more than 2 years with this comment posting email registered for the service. Only reason I am still with them is because of their Chat support, and other than that, there is nothing significant with them, and I would advise everyone always be cautious with eHost when you have your credit cards recorded in their
profile as so far I have faced 3 times surprise charges to my account. When I contacted their support they were not very helpful in refunding.

GEORGIA EVANS on Jun 22, 2017
I am trying change my host from e-host to Go Daddy because I need the support that Go Daddy provides - I have been working on this since yesterday when I was told by ehost that my domain could not be found in their system so they could not give me the authorization code that I need to make the change - then why am I receiving renewal reminders each day?? - now I and am told by e-host that I will be charged $15.00 or I will not receive the authorization code that I need to make the change. I have a non-profit organization - I rescue and provide a forever home for senior Labradors, I do not have extra funds for this - this is horrible and frustrating to say the least - this is why I am changing to Go Daddy....

Bob Richey on May 28, 2017
When I tried to sign up, I agreed to a 3 year deal, on the final page of the PayPal agreement in small letters it said 2 years at a higher price per month. Customer service acknowledged PayPal only does 2 year deals, but nowhere up to the fine print did it say anything about a shorter more expensive plan. I dodged a bullet with this company. If thay are going to cheat me on start up then they will certainly cheat you.

Try it yourself, go to the website and make the best 3 year deal and go to pay with PayPal and see the last page agreement with the small print changing the deal. You don't have to buy it to see that change, but you do need to notice it!

Richard Desiderato on May 24, 2017
eHost gives zero support. Their prices are fair but watch out for getting charged for services that you did not order. Also, it takes an ACT OF CONGRESS to get your refund. I had to call my Credit Card company to get my refund. So if you need support and service you don't want eHost. Find another and better hosting company.

Abbie on May 11, 2017
Hey, I just wanted to share my experience with you about eHost.

I’ve signed up with eHost.com 3 months ago. In this time I’ve never had any problem with my account, so there was no need to contact their support. The service is really good, I’m pleased with the uptime and performance as well. Price is great also.

I choose eHost web hosting, because I needed to host multiple websites. While they offer unlimited website hosting with cPanel, I think it was the best option for me. I truly can say that eHost is one of the best web hosts I’ve used so far.

Paul J. Baker on Apr 22, 2017
Being a webmaster for many years, I choose eHost to create some new niche websites. For me eHost is very affordable and can get all the features I need to run expand my business.
I choose their cPanel hosting plan, because I run my websites on WordPress, so I need this option. I was able find all the necessary info (name servers) to point my domains to their server and was also able to quickly install WordPress to my websites.
The uptime is pretty good. In my 10 months of hosting with eHost, I noticed 2 longer outages of around one hour each, but out of this, there were no other problem.
I would also like to point out that for small sites, eHost works very well. However I had to move one of my websites to another server, because due to high number of visitors it started to slow down. So if you expect to receive over 1000 clicks per day, probably eHost will not be your best bet.
Thanks,
Paul.

Nathan Gueye on Apr 18, 2017
I have started the following review for all those looking for a website host with a good site builder. If you are ehost is not for you. Honestly it is 2017 they do not have a instagram share button so if you are a blogger just find something else and trust me this is far from being the only issue. For all the others that are looking to make their own website go ahead. they have great support and great Cpanel honestly most of it is great just do not and I repeat do not get it for the sitebuilder it's a trap.

Loo on May 12, 2016
Due to outdated Joomla version my website was hacked. Support contacted me via email and kindly asked me to remove the hacked files from my account because they were causing problems with the performance of the server.
Although they suspended my website, they also sent me a list of the infected files, so I was able to make the necessary changes very quickly.
A technician reactivated my website after I removed the files that were causing the problem.
I'm impressed about their ability to detect such problems and about their professional support.
It was annoying the fact that my site was down for couple of hours, but it was a good lesson for me to pay more attention to updating my websites.

Ben on Apr 07, 2016
Yesterday I was trying to contact eHost because I wanted purchase SSL certificate for my website. I was unable to access their main website because it was down or at least unavailable for me.
At that point I panicked because I thought that their whole network was down, but it was only their main website. My website just worked fine and I was able to access the cPanel as well. I couldn't access the hosting control panel though for about one hour.
Now everything seems to back on track and their website and control panel works again just before.
Overall eHost is an OK hosting provider, but there are still problems here and there.

Alex on Apr 05, 2016
There are a lot of available features, but they will charge you separately for every different ability and it gets expensive fast. If you are not a business, I probably wouldn't recommend this site. I'm writing a review because they advertise as though they offer a lot of free capabilities. Not so much and you don't find out until after they take your money.

Eric Photography on Mar 18, 2016
I’m a photographer and for a long time I wanted to build my online portfolio. I had an account at flickr, where I was uploading my photos, but wanted something professional that I can show to my clients. So I decided invest some time and money into building my own website.
I was looking to some premium portfolio builders, but after reading some reviews I went with choosing a normal host and building my website with WordPress. So I choose eHost for hosting my website.
I’m very pleased with how it turned out for me. Had no billing problem, everything went smoothly and was able to access my account in just few minutes after purchase. Because I’m still new to website building and had no idea how to install WordPress to my website using the Cpanel, I contacted support. They helped me to get started.
Why am I writing this review? First of all, because I really like how easy is to get started with eHost. Second, it is way cheaper to use a normal host. Instead paying hundreds of dollars yearly for a portfolio builder that is very limited in functionality, it is better to use WordPress (which is free) and pay for a low cost hosting plan such as eHost. With a WP photography theme you can build and customize your portfolio as you like.
eHost is not perfect though. Sometimes my website is getting very slow. I admit that it is loaded with lots of high quality images, but I’m not receiving much traffic to my site at the moment, so it should be fine. Probably I should avoid uploading very big images to my portfolio.
Anyways, just wanted to tell my boring story and recommend eHost for all those fellow photographers who are looking for an inexpensive solution for their portfolio site. Good luck!

Eddie on Mar 18, 2016
I have three other hosts for my 5 web sites… so I think I can make a fair comparison. One thing for sure…for the basic package, THE PRICE IS RIGHT. I added a web site using the simple option and built it on their site and it uploaded and is easy to edit. I am happy with everything so far… I then added eCommerce, which is hosted by a 3rd party for the basic option, which includes 25 items. After loading it with 25-items I realized that I needed to upgrade to the Essentials option (99- items). This is when all the problems started! Firstly, I waited ‘on hold’ for 17-minutes for support. Then, the person I spoke to did not handle the task very well, as it got all screwed up… I won’t go into details now… the problem got escalated to the developer level yesterday afternoon. It is now 24-hours later, and I called them again to get an update… I waited 19-minutes “on hold” before being answered… the agent spent another few minutes looking at the ticket, then told me that since it was screwed up so bad, that the developers needed to fix it… I asked for a ‘time frame’ and was told she did not know… I mentioned that the payment for the upgrade was processed within minutes of me completing the form…and possibly I could have the payment reversed until the issue was resolved, then I would pay when I could actually be able to use the upgrade! She said that was not possible. So far this is the worst experience I have had with a web site host. I guess you get what you pay for!! I asked if consideration could be given to provide some sort of ‘compensation’ to my account due to all the difficulties…. she said I had to contact the office during regular business hours (CST). That level of customer service is definitely not a ’10’… I know it is not the fault of the agent I spoke to… as she is only doing what she is allowed to do… So, yeah…my experince is NOT good so far and is NOT good value….yet!

Toby on Mar 03, 2016
Today I contacted eHost because my website was loading slower than usual. Their responded fast to my ticket, saying that their technicians are investigating the problem. After about half an hour everything went back to normal and the website loaded in under two seconds. Meanwhile they closed my ticket as well. Kind of strange how they are handling their clients, but what to expect for this price?

Paul yates on Jan 23, 2016
I have always wanted a personal website I chose ehost because there price per month is affordable for my photography site.there website builder was so easy to set up and the templates look so professional. I did have to contact them a lot in the beginning with various things which they responded too straight away.this was the first time I had set a site up so the problems were me being impatient.its so easy to put photos on and update my site.they do offer a lot of extra services with prices for each.i did use the search engine register at extra cost which did take a while to set up now my site is on every search engine.i would highly recommend ehost to friends and family.

Claudio on Dec 09, 2015
Email Server is being blocked by many service providers due to SPAM coming from ehost email server. Since we share the same address, this is causing problems with all users that share the same server.

Donald Johnson on Nov 22, 2015
I choose eHost, because I really liked the simplicity of creating a professional website.

If you are a beginner this host will be perfect to make a simple website by yourself. It is easy to use and it is cost effective.

Have no experience with the support thought, because never had to contact them.

Williams on Nov 18, 2015
It took me only 5 minutes to get started with Ehost. After receiving the confirmation email I was able to instantly install Wordpress to my free domain. It is almost an out of the box hosting package.
I choose Wordpress, because have read about it before and thought it will be a great platform to start my website with. By the way, thanks for the tutorial: https://webhostingmedia.net/make-website-with-wordpress/
It really helped me!
After my website was set, have changed the theme and started uploading content. It took me around 8 hours of work to complete my website.
I'm not a beginner though, I have already built couple of Wordpress sites before, but I'm definitely not an expert.
Anyways, just wanted to let you gust know that is super easy and fun to build your website with Ehost.

Thanks,
Williams.

Arthur F. on Nov 12, 2015
So far I have been enjoying building my website with Ehost's site builder. This is a very cool tool that makes website creation way more easier. In the past I used Wordpress, but my website got hacked multiple times. It was very frustrating to deal with all the updates. Some plugins were updated twice a day. Couldn't keep up, so I switched to a more simple solution.
Ehost gives me exactly what I need, my site runs smoothly and don't have to worry about hacks or updates anymore. There site builder is just amazing.
I'm a customer of Ehost for about 2 months and had no problems with them. Have no experience with their support though, because never contacted them.
Will recommend Ehost to all my friends who needs a cheap website.

Joakim Lind on Sep 25, 2015
Ehost is not the best web hosting I used, but for the project I started recently it is good enough. Unlike others, I had no problem with their support. Don't remember the name of the person I talked with, but we had a very friendly conversation.

I used the site builder and must say, it is the easiest way ever to make a website. The templates are professional looking and all of them are mobile-ready.

The performance could be better. There are periods when my website's speed is not the best. Hope they will improve this very shorty.

Tommy on Sep 23, 2015
I am convinced that the many websites and comments raving about ehost are set up by ehost themselves. This company is horrible from start to finish. The customer service is terrible and rude, the site itself is a joke and the two dollar (four dollar or whatever they are pretending this month) is a BIG FAT LIE! They are the worst webhosting service I have ever dealt with! Rub two sticks together and you will get a faster fire.

Maja B on Sep 18, 2015
I've been trying to register my domain at ehost.com. I’m not a native English speaker, but I’m sure I’ve used the right verb form in the previous sentence. The website ehost.com claims to have your domain registered and live I 1 hour, however in my case this wouldn’t be further from the truth.

I have write several complaints, asked, plead, beg to have my problem fix, because I had some important projects on stand-by because I couldn’t use my new domain. I was running in circles with their live chat support, system admin, even billing admin (even though the payment was processed within 1 hour of purchase). It appears nobody knew, what was wrong – at least nobody told me, even after I demanded the status of my issue: 1. what is the problem, 2. how will it be fixed, 3. when will it be resolved.

After 1 week of complaints, some great business opportunities lost, I have turned myself into mad-customer-Godzilla, threatening their customer support to share my frustration with the world. I have even put time-bomb on my complaint and ask them to fix my problem in 1 hour. And as you can tell, they didn’t fix it.

I have no idea, who is in charge of customer support in that company, but I’m sure, he has never issued a complaint with-in his company. I’m sure otherwise he would see that there are several problems and improvements he/she could have done in their customer support policies.

I am extremely disappointed with the way this company has treated me, and the damage they have done to my business. I do not recommend them at all.

Gowan Eugene on Sep 02, 2015
I signed up with ehost because saw the advertisement about their super easy site builder. Needed a website for my car wash business, and this was a great opportunity to build the website myself, instead buying it from a web design company. The support however is slow and difficulty to communicate with.